Mr. Insync

Thank you online dating gods! Mr. Friday Night Lights and I continued to chat (and laugh) and he asked me out again. I was so excited and we planned to go to a local baseball game. Judge if you’d like, but I was also chatting it up with Mr. Insync and he asked to get together that same week.

This was uncharted territory (multiple dates in the week) and although it was a little tricky to schedule, I felt like a wanted woman and it felt good, dammit.

The morning of our scheduled baseball date, Mr. Friday Night Lights cancelled.

I am swamped at work today and I don’t think I will be able to get to the baseball game on time. I am sorry, but I don’t want to keep you waiting.

Of course I was disappointed, but as I told my friend A, at least this man wasn’t going to waste my time. Unlike some other date I had. I told Mr. Friday Night Lights that I appreciated the courtesy and he promised to make it up to me. I told him that I was going to hold him to it.

One date down, one to look forward to. Yet, low and behold, the following evening I received a text message from Mr. Insync.

I might have to cancel tomorrow night. I’ll let you know as soon as possible.

Really?? Suddenly my two dates in one week was turning into NO dates in one week. Was there a full moon or something? {I checked, there wasn’t.}

Okay, I have to cancel. There was a death in the family and I have to leave town. Sorry about that.

Obviously I didn’t know Mr. Insync, so I was unsure how to respond to the death in the family. I think I said something like, sorry for your loss…. I understand, but please don’t tell me you made up a family member dying to get out of a date. Okay, okay, okay…. I didn’t really say that last part, but you bet your bottom dollar I was thinking it!

I didn’t hear from Mr. Insync for about two weeks.

Comment: